Life
Comment 1

Year One 

Julian is now a year old! I’m like…. how did that happen so fast?! I’m saying all of the super cliche things that I heard moms saying before I had kids (cue the eye roll). I’m over here repeating “where did my baby go” “time just flew by” “he grew so fast and my personal favorite “please stop growing so fast”. Watching a human develop and grow really marks the days. When we brought him home from the hospital he just laid in one place, he didn’t even know how to smile yet, he wiggled around a little bit but that was the extent of his activity. Now he’s walking around, he knows a few words, a few signs, he has a plethora of emotions and preferences.

Instinctually I loved him the second I met him. He was my baby, to protect and nurture but as we have come to know each other I see that I love him more with each passing day. My heart grows a little bit larger, overflowing with love and happiness. It’s just amazing to me how one tiny little being could bring so much joy into my world. 

We celebrating Julian’s birthday with a small family party. I made maple pear spice cakes from The cake blog and made a gluten free version replacing the regular flour with 1 cup of coconut flour 1/3 cup of white rice flour 3 eggs instead of two and 3/4 cup of milk. Both versions turned out wonderful! I made a vanilla maple buttercream icing using too. I used 3 cup of icing sugar, two sticks of butter, half of a vanilla bean. 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 cup of maple syrup. Julian patted his cake lovingly but preferred eating it this a fork (giggles). The nature forest theme continued from his baby shower and I reused some of the decorations/supplies from his birth announcement like the greenery and wooden tray (that became a cake plate). He was surrounded with so much love.


This entry was posted in: Life

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

